Header Bar Graphic
Astronaut ImageArchives HeaderBoy Image
Spacer

TabHomepage ButtonWhat is NASA Quest ButtonSpacerCalendar of Events ButtonWhat is an Event ButtonHow do I Participate Button
SpacerBios and Journals ButtonSpacerPics, Flicks and Facts ButtonArchived Events ButtonQ and A ButtonNews Button
SpacerEducators and Parents ButtonSpacer
Highlight Graphic
Sitemap ButtonSearch ButtonContact Button

  lfm banner

Live From Mars ended in December 1997. Please see Mars Team Online for a more recent project about Mars.



Credits and Contacts


Live From Mars is a Passport to Knowledge project, and is made possible with support from the Mars Exploration Directorate of NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL), the National Science Foundation (NSF), the American Museum of Natural History (AMNH) , PBS Teacher Resource Services and Public Television.

These online resources are provided by NASA's Quest team located at the NASA Ames Research Center. The Quest Project is supported by the NASA Learning Technologies Project of NASA's Office of High Performance Computing and Communications.
The responsible NASA official is Karen Traicoff (ktraicoff@mail.arc.nasa.gov).


This project is only possible with the dedicated support of the men and women who work to unlock the secrets of Mars. These people are are donating their time to support K-12 education. A special thanks to Live From Mars volunteer experts.


The Project Director and Executive Producer of Live From Mars is Geoff Haines-Stiles (ghaines@mail.arc.nasa.gov). Geoff is responsible for the overall project as well as for the television and print materials.

Sterling Software was responsible for the design, development and operation of all online activities.

Sandy Dueck (sandy@quest.arc.nasa.gov) and Marc Siegel (msiegel@quest.arc.nasa.gov) lead the overall online effort. This Live From MarsWebspace was designed and implemented by Linda Conrad (lindac@quest.arc.nasa.gov). In addition, the following people have made significant contributions to the online part of Live from Mars: Nathan Hickson, Irene Calizo, Chris Tanski (ctanski@servtech.com) and Jennifer Sellers (sellers@quest.arc.nasa.gov). High school seniors Noel Pacheco and Dan Munro also contributed as part of an unpaid internship.

Graphics were designed and produced by Linda McClung (lmcclung@rspac.ivv.nasa.gov) of RSPAC. Stratis Kakadelis (skakelis@rspac.ivv.nasa.gov) was very helpful during this process. Some of the opening page icons were contributed by Dave Faust (dfaust@mail.arc.nasa.gov) of the NASA Ames Documentation Technology Branch.

Jan Wee (jwee@mail.arc.nasa.gov) is a vital force in helping to grow and support the online community of like-minded teachers participating in this project.

The Webmaster and System Administrator of Quest is Alan Federman (federman@quest.arc.nasa.gov), with technical support from Ted Hardie and Chris Yarnell.

The Smart Filters are a group of volunteers who helped process questions from classrooms via email. We welcome additional folks who would like to volunteer to help with future projects.

Our ability to handle thousands of questions is made possible by wonderful public domain software originally written by Rob Menke (rmenke@netcom.com) and later updated by Dan Helfman (witten@quest.arc.nasa.gov) who, as a high school student, volunteered his time one summer.

The Virtual Tour of Ares Vallis enhanced version was produced by Gene Kusekoski (kusekoski@zko.dec.com).

The Weather Worlds student activity was organized and managed by teachers Eileen Bendixson (ebend@netlabs.net) and Susan Hurstcalderone (calderone@sysnet.net). In addition, Dan Helfman helped design and implement the Webspace.

 
Spacer        

Footer Bar Graphic
SpacerSpace IconAerospace IconAstrobiology IconWomen of NASA IconSpacer
Footer Info